500 words a day [1]

New year. New focus. New goals.

The New Year is a bittersweet moment to me. We have a love hate relationship.

I love that it gives me a chance to start fresh. Revamp my mindset, my goals, and my lifestyle. It allows me to combine the good things from the year before with the things I want to change.

I hate that it is a programmed added pressure to make resolutions. And as soon as there is a single step off that path, it is an automatic feeling of guilt and failure.

To me, resolutions are short term. The word itself expresses the idea of once it is complete, that is the end. There is no extension or evolution. But goals are open ended, and have the ability to grow with me.

So this year is different for me. I have decided to make goals, not resolutions. Goals that are realistic, but will take work to achieve and stay true to. Goals that are not only for 2016, but that will evolve over this year, next year, and my foreseeable future. Goals that will make my current and future self a better person.

To start, I created my goals, wrote them down, and shared them with a significant other that I know will hold me accountable. Although these are my personal goals and I should be the one holding myself responsible, I believe that sharing them with someone I trust will only help me stay true to my goals and make sure they are realistic, measureable, and suitable to who I am and who I want to be.

Within these goals is this – 500 words a day. Why? Because not only do I love to read and write, but I do not do it enough. Writing is such a great creative outlet. It lets the juices flow, the ideas stream from mind to paper, from mental concepts to written notions. Things come out that you didn’t even know where there or existed.

Writing help those ideas you didn’t know existed become a reality – even if it is in a fictional realm. Brainstorming doesn’t always make sense, and the ideas don’t always come out clear. But at least it gets them out. From there they can be molded into whatever you want them to be. Making dreams a reality.

So where to go from here? Continue to write. Every day. 500 words a day. For 30 days. No excuses. It doesn’t have to make sense. It doesn’t have to be good. It just has to be done.

They say it takes 21 days to create a habit, and 30 days to continue one. Keeping my hopes high and my fingers busy – I can’t wait to see where this journey takes me. Let the games begin!

One thought on “500 words a day [1]

Leave a Reply

