500 words a day [2]

Have you ever found yourself in a situation in which you are torn and challenged mentally and physically? A situation in which you may know what is the “right” choice, but you don’t want to admit it.

That is exactly where I am now. It has been just over 48 hours since I have been home from my knee arthroscopy and bone graft surgery. And within those 48 hours, the majority of my time has been spent lying down with my left leg propped up on a pillow. Range of motion is limited. Mobility is limited. Walking is limited.

Not only is that enough to bum me out, but I will not be able to run, jump, squat, lift, or do any high intensity movements on my lower body until after my ACL reconstruction (surgery #2) in 4-8 months. I currently have no ACL and putting too much pressure on my lower body will put unnecessary stress on my remaining functional ligaments.

This leaves me currently bed ridden, and solely upper body focused for my foreseeable future … well at least in 2016.

At first, this really got me down and bumming hard. And I would be lying if I said it didn’t still. But over the past couple days, I have had plenty of time to reflect and redirect those thoughts.

Yes it will be hard. Yes it will take all of my patience. But it will be worth it in the end.

This situation really made me realize that mental challenges are just as important as physical. What you are thinking and what shape your mind is in is what makes the biggest difference of all. Without the mental strength and positivity, recovery is not the same.

People often get upset and down when things don’t necessarily go their way or take an unexpected detour. This only makes the situation worse. Not only does negativity effect the situation at hand, but it also spreads its way into other aspects of your life. It is like a disease.

So with this, I challenge myself daily – as should you. Stop the negative thoughts before they even start. Keep your head high and eyes set forward. There is no need to dwell on what could have been or what happened in the past. For every negative thought or expression, hold yourself accountable and flip it to something positive.

This may not seem like a lot to some, but this little gesture on a daily basis will add up. So try it with me and see how far you can go.

One thought on “500 words a day [2]

Leave a Reply

