500 words a day [4]

It has been about 4 days since I have left my home – or even stepped outside at all for that matter. I have been fixed to the cushion of my couch – laptop open, TV on, and left leg propped up on a pillow.

Four days may not seem like much, but it really is a lot of time. That is 96 hours. With that time I have spent a lot of time watching TV, browsing the interwebs, feeling a little helpless and dependent, and of course talking with Frankenstein.

I am not complaining, but it would be really nice to be able to function as a normal human being… Or at least get from one room to another in less than 90 seconds and not on crutches. How did I do this eight and a half years ago? And back then the recovery was much more intense than it is right now. Forced to stay in bed, leg up with minimal movement for 6-8 weeks. Now I can barely last a week and I am itching to get back up a moving.

But I do have to say, that much time sedentary and limited really gives you time to think. Work, family, to-do list, future plans, and you name it all came to mind. It was actually quite fascinating. You come up with all of these ideas and plans. And it is not long before you change your mind and think you should do the total opposite. But then you decide you were right the first time.

It is crazy that we can change our minds so much and the longer we sit and contemplate something we move back and forth and further away from the original idea. Or maybe that is just me.

One thought sparks an idea, and suddenly you got from wedding decoration ideas to wondering what they call those little prong thingies that go on the end of an ear of corn. Not to mention all of the things that came up in between.

I know this is not quite 500 words … and that I kind of ended it all on an incomplete thought. But that is where my mind ended today. I know I am not the only one that just gets to that point when your brain just stops and says that’s it for now.

So until next time…

Leave a Reply

