500 words a day [5]

“The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away.” – Pablo Picasso

This is one of my favorite quotes of all time. I believe these words are true in every way and that they apply to everyone. Some people may find their meaning of life early in life – where others may not find it until later down the road. That is because everyone’s meaning in life is different. There is no one size fits all template. Everyone will search for, discover, and pursue that meaning in completely different ways. And that is okay.

I have this mental battle with myself almost on a daily basis. I have a constant craving for something, but have no idea what it is. I feel like there is something waiting for me to discover it. But I can tell it is not yet time for it to be revealed. I know there is something more out there for me. I am meant for something more than what I am today.

I have days where I brainstorm, asking myself questions about what I want and coming up with more possibilities for my future. And then there are days where I am frustrated with myself and the universe for not answering me and bringing me right back to square one. But why? Why am I in such a rush? I am only 26 … I have plenty of time.

And although I do tend to stress myself out over it, there are definite moments of calm in which I am at peace with not knowing what the future has in store for me and am fully open to trusting the process.

I am not as much a religious person as I am a spiritual person. I feel like these are the moments in life in which I have learned to give myself up to what the gods and spiritual beings have planned for me. Yes it will take some hard work from me. It will take my elbow grease and grinding it out to make it happen. But I can’t force anything. None of us can. It needs to be an organic process. When we try and force these things, they may seem to work for a little while. But eventually they come crumbling down for one reason or another.

Found your meaning of life? More power to you! Now you just have the task of giving that away.

Haven’t quite found your meaning of life? That’s okay too … me neither! Don’t sweat it. We will all get there. One way or another, no matter when that may be, we will get there.

Leave a Reply

