500 words a day [6]

In continuation to yesterday’s write up …

Growing up, it seems as if it was always about “the next step”. What sport are you going to play? What college are you going to go to? What are you going to study? What are you going to do with that degree? What are you going to do in the future?

It was always about the big picture – the long term goal.

I was always pushing myself to do better, to do more. I was never satisfied with where I was because I was not at my end goal.

But then it occurred to me … ‘Will I ever be at an end goal? Will I ever stop striving for more?

The answer: No.

And that is how it should be. I think that as humans we can always strive for more and keep pushing ourselves for greater things. In doing that, we must keep our eye on the prize so we do not get distracted. But at the same time, we cannot just let life pass us by. We have to be willing to be flexible and open. We must take advantage of the moment when the moment needs taking. Because we will never get those moments back.

Over the past week or so, I have been able to do a lot of self-reflection; and honestly, it has been a little hard. It has been hard because I knew going into it that I am guilty of getting too wrapped up in the future and what might or might not be.

Yes, it is great to have goals — short term and long term and everywhere in between. And yes, it is good to do things now that will benefit you in the long run and help you achieve those goals. But if we let those things control our lives, we are going to be so caught up in them that we will miss the pleasures of life that are happening in the now. No one should miss out on the joys of life because they are too focused on the finish line. Take today for what it is, because it is the little things that make life worth living.

There is a saying: yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That is why it is called the “present”. -Oogway (Kung Fu Panda)

 

Leave a Reply

